Skip to content

officially a law student

19 August, 2008

Exhaustion? Check.

Wide-eyed fear? Check.

Already aching back from lugging books around? Check.

Yes, I’m officially a law student. Orientation today went well. I met a few people from my section, and some from the other section. They haven’t really segregated us yet – that comes next week. We listened to several speakers today – all sorts of deans and various Drake Law grads. It was really interesting. Plus, the SBA gave us free lunch! We had a cook-out with plenty of burgers and hotdogs to go around.

I have more reading to do for tomorrow, as well as getting my resume to a potential part-time employer. And I also know what the first assignments are for most of my classes. And I need to update my checkbook after paying $140.00 for a parking pass just to see how broke I really am. (DONATIONS BEING ACCEPTED…) Plus I need to start thinking about what clubs I am interested in, and if I want to run for representative of the 1L class for the SBA.

In short, I’m tired and I still have a lot to do. More tomorrow after another interesting day of orientation!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 21 August, 2008 3:44 pm

    Haha. Congrats on being a real law student. Get used to free lunches as Westlaw and Lexis will start courting you soon. Good luck!

  2. 21 August, 2008 5:42 pm

    Thanks! I’m looking forward to all the swag I have read about. 🙂

Leave a Reply

