Skip to content

so this is what ADD feels like…

26 August, 2008

Distractions abound.

The Internet: I haven’t read blogs or really kept up with anyone’s lives like I used to. I haven’t sent out a family email lately, which I need to do. I haven’t updated/kept in touch with my recommendation writers. I haven’t played around on the various sites I used to frequent.

Homesickness: I wanna go home! I know, I know. I am familiar with the usual protestations: this situation is temporary, December will be here before I know it, I would still have to do homework even if I was at home. I still wanna go home.

Friends: I want desperately to meet friends to hang out or get a bite to eat. Libby, Hillary, Tessa & Em, Jamie (who will be in town soon), Patrick. I want to go to Drinking Liberally. I want to go to Bar Review with the Delts.

Sleep: I can’t seem to get enough sleep. The night before last I got about 6 1/2 hours. Last night I got about 8 1/2 – 9 hours. Neither was good enough when it came time to get out of bed.

People watching: I can’t get enough of it. I am fascinated by people, and the law school thus far has provided a very rich environment to watch them. How people study, how they interact, how they act in class. I find myself very drawn to just gazing around. Not very conducive to getting work done.

Blogging: I feel like I have a million thoughts to get into my blog about law school, but it’s hard to get a concrete post out of all of them.

Plus, YOU try getting anything accomplished in this beautiful building:

Drake Law Library, Opperman Hall

Drake Law Library, Opperman Hall

I can’t seem to do my work without wanting to wander around through the volumes and volumes of books, or to look around and find that secret little study space that nobody knows about.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 27 August, 2008 10:24 am

    I’m sorry, what? I was too busy looking at the green haired, tweed suit wearing woman that just walked by. I think she teaches Ethics. 😉
    It’s distracting because it’s new. Soon, it’ll be the norm.

  2. 27 August, 2008 11:07 am

    HAHAHAHA! Oh, Colsy. You make me smile.

  3. Llama Momma permalink
    27 August, 2008 12:41 pm

    I want to see you too!! Hey…I’m going to be in Des Moines with lil llama Friday around 4:45. We are making a quick run to Sam’s for candy bars…..I can’t have a drink but we could meet somewhere kid friendly and have a bite to eat or some ice cream!

  4. 27 August, 2008 4:03 pm

    Llama: I’ll send you an email. I’m not going to be in town that late this Friday. Next Friday, or most Fridays I would be. But we’re going out of town this weekend. 😦

  5. Llama Momma permalink
    28 August, 2008 9:52 am

    Okay…have your people contact my people….and then we need to contact Em’s people too….

  6. 28 August, 2008 2:18 pm

    Agreed!

Leave a Reply

