Skip to content

a bit of reassurance

3 September, 2008

Today was my first real day of being called on under the Socratic method. It wasn’t too terribly awful, but it was of course over a smaller part of the reading assignment that I didn’t devote as much of my attention to. Professor Civ Pro is tough, and when she assigns something I definitely need to take it seriously – no matter how small or insignificant I may find it.

Luckily our classes are pretty short (50 minutes), so I only was on the spot for less than ten minutes. (It still felt A LOT longer…) It’s a weird feeling – I know I read and understood the material before I was suddenly on the spot with 83 pairs of eyes on me. Suddenly I became a bumbling, unsure mess. I know I felt the blood creeping into my neck and ears, and I felt like my speaking ability dropped to that of a tenth grader. I didn’t feel that I did all that well.

But…two different people after class told me I had done a good job. That definitely made me feel better about the situation. I’m sure I’ll have times ahead in which I definitely don’t feel so positive about the Socratic method, though. I have a feeling my day is coming in Torts…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Llama Momma permalink
    4 September, 2008 8:01 am

    Just remember…we are always our hardest critics. You are new at this. Now…if you were a 2nd year student and acted that way…that would be a problem. Off to google Socratic method…..

  2. 4 September, 2008 10:46 am

    LOL You’re right, Llama. And let me know if you have any questions about the Socratic method. Heh.

  3. 7 September, 2008 2:31 pm

    something similar happened to me in torts. the bad thing is, some people label you stupid after a situation like that. the good thing is, you’re not stupid – just nervous.
    and, in your situation, you had people say you did a good job! i didn’t get that..lol!

  4. 8 September, 2008 2:01 pm

    Shake Me: I would hope they wouldn’t label anyone as stupid on that basis… Sadly I’m sure you’re right. The worst part is that we’re all in the same situation and that “blanking out” could happen to any of us!

Leave a Reply

