Skip to content

best possible scenario

22 September, 2008

I wanted to wait until the first and second rounds of the C. Edwin Moore moot court competition were over before I really talked much about it. The overall gist of the competition was that you argued one side of a case one week, and the other side the next week. There were three judges for each round, with a minimum score of 70 and a maximum score of 100.

My first round went well, though I had plenty of areas of improvement. And by well, I mean I didn’t pass out or totally bomb. I averaged around 82 for my scores. I needed to practice more so that I didn’t depend on my written argument – and so that I could have just a simple outline to help keep me on track instead of that full-on written argument. I also was REALLY thrown by the way the judges were allowed to just interrupt you and ask questions. But I stuck through it, and had what one of the judges referred to as “AN AWESOME REBUTTAL”.

The second round went far, far better. I wrote the argument sooner so that I could rehearse it more and rely only on an outline form of my argument. However, I still relied on that too much – I needed a little more eye contact and less pausing after questions. But the questions? I answered them confidently and without hesitation. A HUGE change from the previous week. I just had to make sure to shut my brain off immediately so that I could focus on the question, but I still need practice getting back into my argument when I’ve answered. My average score was 93 (with a high score of 95)!

I’m thrilled with this, to be honest. Why, you ask? Two reasons. First, I improved my score drastically. Enough so that I probably could have advanced to the semi-finals had I scored that way for both rounds. Second, I didn’t advance to the semi-finals. My goal was not to win this whole thing, though the prize money would have been great. Frankly, I don’t know if I have the time to be worrying about another round when my first closed memo is due in a week. My goal was to get some experience under my belt so that it won’t be quite so terrifying when it comes time to do it for a grade next semester. Not only did I do that, but I learned from my mistakes. Pretty much the best possible scenario, if you ask me!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. delicioustorts permalink
    22 September, 2008 4:17 pm

    Congratulations on the improvement! That is wonderful. 🙂

  2. Llama Momma permalink
    23 September, 2008 7:46 am

    That is awesome!! You are doing so great!!

  3. 23 September, 2008 10:45 am

    Holy awesome cannoli!

  4. 23 September, 2008 8:23 pm

    Thanks, everyone!

Leave a Reply

