Skip to content

on being a blawger

3 November, 2008

I know that I haven’t posted much lately, especially about law school. There’s a good reason, I promise. It’s not only that I find myself extremely busy with school, extracurriculars, and maintaining my marriage. It’s also that I have been self-editing when it comes to law school and blogging.

I see hundreds of things a week I wish I could post about, but I know that my real name is on this blog and it wouldn’t take much googling for a classmate to find it. (If they haven’t already.)

A fellow blogger suggested that I never blog anything I wouldn’t say to a person’s face. And since I haven’t known many of my classmates for very long, I tend to think that there’s not a lot I WOULD say to their faces. I’m snarky, don’t get me wrong. But it’s mostly just in Lisslo-land. The trouble is that these people are future colleagues besides just being my classmates in law school. I have to remember that I don’t want to be “that girl” who blogged about someone else’s misfortune of saying or doing something moronic.

So once again I find myself wondering if I can continue on with the blogging thing with my full identity out there. I love my blog and all of the people who regularly read here. I want you to know that law school isn’t as boring as it seems here. I am entertained on nearly a daily basis in the fishbowl I pay tuition to attend. And I’m learning things that to me are fascinating, but don’t necessarily make the best blog fodder.

I guess what I’m saying is bear with me. I’m still trying to figure out how much I want to talk about with my name actually attached to it, and what I should leave out for potentially the sake of my future career.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. enjolie permalink
    4 November, 2008 3:43 am

    and that, my dear, is why i stay totally anonymous. you could make an alternate snarky blog. i have an alternate “respectable” blog.

  2. 4 November, 2008 8:13 am

    Instead of commenting on personality traits or specific people…you can always comment on funny situations or exchanges by changing the person’s name or gender. I always use “Jack” and “Jill”…

    …but then, a lot of people from my school read my blog in class so I’m on notice.

  3. 4 November, 2008 10:37 am

    enjolie: I’ve thought about it.

    jansen: I usually just say “classmate”, but I still don’t feel that’s sufficient. I don’t know. I’m sure I’ll figure this out. 🙂

  4. 4 November, 2008 4:15 pm

    Lisslo, as somebody who’s WHOLE FAMILY and friends read my blog, I find myself not blogging about a lot of personal stuff either. Same reason. The other day I blogged somebody somewhat personal in nature about my sex life then immediately deleted it. It wasn’t anything BAD but it might have embarrassed Mr. Twinkie because it mentioned the big “O”..

    Anytime I get into it with my friends or they piss me off or whatever, I don’t blog about it because I’d never want to write something that would hurt their feelings.

    Just blog about yourself and situations that pertain to you. If you are bothered at school mention the emotions involved but not the situation itself.

    i’d hate for you to give your blog up because I really enjoy following your trek through law school and life in general.

Leave a Reply

