Skip to content

today in the quiet lounge*

18 November, 2008

1. There was a guy who quietly answered his phone, and stood to leave. He then proceeded to thunderingly run out of the room. Seriously, guy. It would have been far less distracting if you would have calmly and quietly walked out. Instead, it sounded like a herd of stampeding rhinos.

2. There was a guy who kept muttering to himself as he was studying. He was looking back and forth between his notes and the book, saying things like “really!?” and “is that what it was?” Disturbing.

3. There was a guy who came in, sat down, and starting that really irritating whistle where there’s no real tone but there is still the distinct sound of breath passing over the lips.

WTF? How am I supposed to focus on inchoate offenses and the different motivations for punishing them when there is all of this DISTRACTION going on!?!?

 

*Quiet. Meaning, when there are other people in the room with you, STFU. Or at least be considerate of the fact that some of us are actually trying to get the crim law reading for tomorrow done.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. 18 November, 2008 2:33 pm

    Maybe all of the kids in the world who recieved ear muffs for Christmas could donate them to the Quiet libraries of the world?

  2. Another 1L permalink
    18 November, 2008 6:39 pm

    I hope none of those people were me. That’s why I usually go to the library. I guess I didn’t feel like going all the way back there today between lunch in the noisy lounge and civ pro.

  3. 19 November, 2008 7:56 am

    The whistle thing is the oddest… I find cafes (with headphones) way less distracting than the library. All the noises drown each-other out.

    Are these people in your section?

  4. 19 November, 2008 10:19 am

    Colsy: Good idea!

    Another 1L: I don’t know who you are, but it wasn’t you – the people weren’t 1Ls.

    Jansen: It depends on my mood as to where I study. Sometimes I go to the noisy lounge and with headphones I’m fine. Other days I need quiet. And no, they weren’t 1Ls.

  5. GRACE permalink
    19 November, 2008 10:44 am

    Girl, I know exactly how you feel. I often have to check myself and say ….”maybe it’s me.” Perhaps I’m just too sensitive to all of this rudness going on around me. But after reading your entry, I know it’s not. Best of Luck in school!

  6. 19 November, 2008 11:20 am

    I have the same problem in the Quiet Zones on UK trains:

    http://caughtinthemiddleman.wordpress.com/2007/05/28/planes-trains-and-automobiles-part-6/

  7. 19 November, 2008 4:47 pm

    Grace: No, I think people are just extraordinarily rude anymore. Nobody has manners – it’s terrible.

    Middle Man: I’ll check it out, thanks for the link.

  8. GRACE permalink
    26 November, 2008 7:23 pm

    I can’t wait to hear the holiday stories!

    Happy Thanksgiving!!!
    Enjoy the food and the folks!

  9. 26 November, 2008 10:53 pm

    The muttering student would drive me crazy.

Leave a Reply

