Skip to content

outlining is not my idea of a good time

29 November, 2008

It is so difficult to explain to people who are not in law school or who have never been in law school about exams and all it takes to prepare for them. It’s not as though there is anything even remotely comparable in terms of the possible common experiences of high school or undergrad. They don’t understand the pressure I am under or how much stress is involved with relying only on a single exam for your entire grade. I can be clearly working hard on an outline – even wearing headphones – but people still want to make chit-chatty conversation. I love my husband, and my family, and his family. But seriously.

I feel like they think I’m doing all of this outlining for fun or something. Like I’m doing it to avoid helping get food ready or to be lazy. Trust me, I’d much rather be cutting up ham or stirring gravy. And I’d MUCH rather be spending time with Brandon and Mikayla…or watching a movie…or sleeping…or cleaning out my microwave.

But, I’m halfway done with outlining. Hallelujah.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. hugobell permalink
    29 November, 2008 3:13 pm

    Just starting now 😉

    Good luck!

  2. delicioustorts permalink
    29 November, 2008 11:00 pm

    Ugh! I’m so with you! My family has been giving me these crazy looks when I say I really have no time in the next two or so weeks. At least my husband understand… hang in there – it’s almost over!

  3. 1 December, 2008 11:19 am

    May you never run out of highlighter fluid or ink!

  4. 1 December, 2008 11:28 am

    Thanks, hugo. Same to you!

    Torts: Honestly. You’d think they could try to understand… 🙂

    Colsy: Heh. AMEN!

  5. 2 December, 2008 9:43 am

    I could not agree more. There is just a disconnect with those who have not been through law school. I love my wife and family but they will never know how difficult, time consuming and not fun outlining is.

  6. 2 December, 2008 5:14 pm

    what are you talking about? outlining is a blast. lazy. (just kidding of course if you didn’t read the sarcasm dripping from that). good luck on finals!

  7. 6 December, 2008 8:31 pm

    (I’m keeping my fingers crossed for you.)

Leave a Reply

