Skip to content

the roommate situation

15 December, 2008

I really like my roommates, and I consider myself to be pretty lucky. Nobody’s perfect, but they both have a great sense of humor and are laid back. The roommate I share a bathroom with is hardly ever at the apartment because she spends a lot of time at her boyfriend’s place. In fact, I’m pretty sure that for the entire semester, I’ve seen her less than ten times.

Until last night.

She was at the apartment with her boyfriend. Which, normally, would be fine. Except, on the night before one of the exams that I’m stressing most about they were up in the living room until after 12:30 watching a movie. And loudly guffawing in laughter at the funny parts. And talking. My room shares a wall with the living room, and none of the other bedrooms does. My guess is that they don’t realize how much I can hear from my room, but seriously. It’s one thing to be chatty and laughing at 10:30 at night. But 12:30?! When I had been in my room ALL DAY studying. Even at 8 when I called it quits for the night and turned off my light to relax and watch a couple of episodes of Gilmore Girls. I was clearly trying to get some rest. I could hear them over the sounds of Norah in my iPod!

I guess my issue is not knowing whether this is going to become a standard practice now that they are done with classes for the semester, or if it is just an anomoly. I need to be well-rested for these endurance exams, people. I only have to deal with it for a few more days…but trust me, when I am sleep deprived for a few days it isn’t pretty.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 15 December, 2008 1:41 pm

    This definitely needs to be discussed. When you’re no longer upset about it. But soon. She must not know how loud they were. But she needs to know.

  2. 15 December, 2008 1:41 pm

    THAT, or you need to switch rooms with her.

  3. 15 December, 2008 11:09 pm

    Slip a bill under her door for tuition you’ll have to pay again when you fail your exams because of them…

    Or court papers saying you’re suing them for distress.

    Or something lawyer-y. 🙂

    Sorry, I’m trying to be funny.

  4. 16 December, 2008 4:25 pm

    If I am up past one hour my bedtime, then I am officially sleep deprived and ‘off’ all the next day, so I totally sympathize.

  5. 22 December, 2008 9:36 pm

    Like Twinkie said, when you’re no longer pissed about it, mention it. It’s not going to fix itself.

    I have always hated asking my roommates to modify their behavior. *Hated* it. Really though, it isn’t too much to ask of their consideration of others. They are the ones that should feel stupid for needing the reminder.

Leave a Reply

