Skip to content

cool kids and cookouts

15 May, 2009

Yesterday I finished my 1L year! I went out on a pretty decent note with my con law final. It was tough, and I felt a moment of panic when the first question was some abstract Jefferson quote that we were asked to interpret. My professor warned us not to b.s. him, and I didn’t – I said what I thought it meant, told him I wasn’t going to b.s. and then moved on. Maybe I’ll get a point for creativity.

Afterwards, we had a cookout on the lawn of the school – complete with some decent food and….beer! The Dean’s office supplied a keg. Nice, right? It was a lovely time because everyone was in an incredible mood knowing we were done. I don’t even like beer, but I had some anyway. It felt appropriate to celebrate.

You know that feeling you had back when you were a sophomore in high school and the seniors had their last day? That feeling that you were an upper-classman? That’s kind of how it felt – we were the cool kids because we became upperclassmen. Silly, I know. We talked about wanting to tell the 1Ls we’ve seen around getting tours to run. We talked about being so happy to be 2Ls. We talked about jobs we’ve had, and what we’re doing this summer. I’m going to miss all of my friends who helped to keep me sane over the past year (and, yes that includes Libby, Patrick, and Hillary – my non-law school friends!). I haven’t worked full time outside of Des Moines EVER in my life, and not being there everyday is going to be weird. I can’t wait to start the new job on Monday, though!

And look at what my sweet husband made me to celebrate the end of my 1L year:

One of the few dessert items I positively love! Happy end of 1L year. Summer here I come!

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. tfaux permalink
    15 May, 2009 12:25 pm

    yay!! where are you working? please say winterset…..

  2. 15 May, 2009 10:17 pm

    Closer to home – Greenfield.

  3. 16 May, 2009 3:55 am

    Woah! That looks delicious.

  4. 16 May, 2009 1:38 pm

    What is that?! Totally terrifying at first glance, but a closer inspection makes it seem… delicious! Is it cookie dough with bits sticking out of it??

  5. 17 May, 2009 6:24 pm

    Poppy – it’s a white chocolate/macadamia nut cookie. 🙂

  6. Emily permalink
    18 May, 2009 10:11 pm

    Yay Yay Yay for summer!!! I wish I could still have summers “off”. 🙂

  7. 19 May, 2009 8:29 pm

    Em – I’ll be working full time, so it’s all the same. I swear I’ve learned more in the past two days than I thought possible. It’s left me so exhausted at the end of the day!

  8. 20 May, 2009 12:58 pm

    What is that #1 made of? M&M’s and onions? Tell me!!!!

  9. 21 May, 2009 9:40 pm

    It’s chow mein noodles, m&m’s, marshmallow creme, peanut butter, and melted butter. So not good for you, but so good.

Leave a Reply

